• Slider-logo-3.png
  • Slider-logo-2.png
  • Slider-logo-5.png
  • Slider-logo-4.png
  • Slider-logo-1.png

The latitude and longitude of Cyprus are 34° 33'-35° 34' North, 32° 16'-34° 37' East.

Population Demography

Population: 837.300 (End 2004)
77,8%: Greek Cypriots (651.100)
10,5%: Turkish Cypriots (88.100)
11,7%: Foreign residents (98.100)

Note: Prior to the Turkish invasion (July-August 1974) the two communities lived together in roughly the same proportions (4 Greek Cypriots : 1Turkish Cypriot) in all six administrative districts of the island. Since the invasion, more than 57 000 Turkish Cypriots emigrated, with the result that today they constitute only 10,5% of the population compared to 18% before July 1974.

Population of Main Towns
(End 2004)
Lefkosia (Nicosia): 219.200 (Lefkosia in the Government controlled area)
Lemesos (Limassol): 172.500
Larnaka: 77.000
Pafos: 51.300
Ammochostos area:41.200

Note: All place names have been converted into Latin characters according to the official System of Transliteration of the Greek alphabet.


Island Contours

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean Sea. Its 9,251 square kilometres (3,572 square miles) encompass citrus and olive groves, pine forested mountains, and some of Europe's cleanest beaches. Also the easternmost island in the Mediterranean Sea, Cyprus is approximately 105kilometres (60 miles) west of Syria, 75kilometres (47 miles) south of Turkey and 380kilometres (200 miles) north of Egypt. The nearest Greek point is the Greek island of Rhodes which is 380kilometres (200miles) to the west. The island has a mild, typically Mediterranean climate, with abundant sunshine even in winter and little rainfall. Prominent geographic features include the Troodos massif that occupies most of the south western part of the country, the Pentadaktylos range in the north around Kyrenia and the Messaoria Plain in between them. It is here that the capital city, Lefkosia, is located.

The elongated Karpasia Peninsula occupies the north eastern part of Cyprus, while the south eastern point terminates in Cape Greco. The southern coast is where the major towns of Larnaka and Lemesos are located. Pafos and the Akamas Peninsula are on the far western edge.

Entry formalities are limited to a minimum. Citizens of country members of the Council of Europe do not need a visa.

All citizens of EU-Member countries may enter Cyprus on presentation of their identity card, provided it bears a photo of the holder.